

COUNCIL POLICY C-FDO2

Recognition of <mark>Volunteer</mark> Fire <del>Departments</del> Districts

| Prepared By:    | Fire Services | Council Approval Date:  |                           |
|-----------------|---------------|-------------------------|---------------------------|
| Effective Date: |               | Council Resolution No.: | N/A                       |
| References:     | N/A           | Previous Revision Date: | January 25, 2005 (FD 002) |
| Function:       | Personnel     | LAS Review Date:        | June 25, 2015             |

### PURPOSE

The purpose of this policy is to provide recognition to Parkland County fire districts.

### POLICY STATEMENT

Parkland County wishes to acknowledge and provide recognition to volunteer fire departments districts celebrating a their 10<sup>th</sup>, 25<sup>th</sup>, 40<sup>th</sup>, 50<sup>th</sup> or 60<sup>th</sup> year with of providing fire services to residents and property within Parkland County.

# **STANDARDS**

 Parkland County will contribute \$1,000.00 \$2,000.00 to each Parkland County fire department district hosting a function celebrating 10, 25, 40, 50 or 60 years of providing fire protection with Countyowned equipment, as indicated below:

| Fire District                            | Year of Agreement | 10 <sup>th</sup> yr | 25 <sup>th</sup> yr | 40 <sup>th</sup> yr | 50 <sup>th</sup> yr | 60 <sup>th</sup> yr |
|--|-------------------|---------------------|---------------------|---------------------|---------------------|---------------------|
|  |                   |                     |                     |                     |                     |                     |
| Devon – District 1                       | 1978              | 1988                | 2003                | 2018                | 2028                | 2038                |
|  |                   |                     |                     |                     |                     |                     |
| Parkland Village/Acheson –<br>District 2 | 1994              | 2004                | 2019                | 2034                | 2044                | 2054                |
|  |                   |                     |                     |                     |                     |                     |
| Stony Plain – District 3                 | 1965              | 1975                | 1990                | 2005                | 2015                | 2025                |
|  |                   |                     |                     |                     |                     |                     |
| Wabamun – District 4                     | 1964              | 1974                | 1989                | 2004                | 2014                | 2024                |
|  |                   |                     |                     |                     |                     |                     |
| <mark>Pembina</mark> Yellowhead –        | 1965              | 1975                | 1990                | 2005                | 2015                | 2025                |
| District 5                               |                   |                     |                     |                     |                     |                     |
|  |                   |                     |                     |                     |                     |                     |
| Tomahawk – District 6                    | 1964              | 1974                | 1989                | 2004                | 2014                | 2024                |
|  |                   |                     |                     |                     |                     |                     |
| Seba Beach – District 7                  | 1989              | 1999                | 2014                | 2029                | 2039                | 2049                |

2. A suitably engraved plaque will be presented by Parkland County for 25 and 50 years, in recognition of Council's appreciation.

# SCOPE

The policy applies to all fire districts in Parkland County that are either under the administration of Parkland County (i.e., Parkland Village, Tomahawk and Acheson), or those that have entered into an agreement with Parkland County to provide fire services (i.e., Devon, Stony Plain, Wabamun, Seba Beach, and Yellowhead).

### MANAGEMENT RESPONSIBILITIES

The Fire Chief is responsible to ensure fire districts receive the appropriate recognition each year, and continue to monitor and evaluate this policy.