

# **Parkland County**

53109A Highway 779 Parkland County, Alberta T7Z 1R1 Parklandcounty.com

## **Meeting Minutes**

## Council

Mayor Rod Shaigec
Council Member AnnLisa Jensen
Council Member Jackie McCuaig
Council Member Phyllis Kobasiuk
Council Member Darrell Hollands
Council Member John McNab
Council Member Tracey Melnyk

Monday, January 23, 2017 9:00 AM Council Chambers

## **Special Council Meeting**

## **CALL TO ORDER**

Mayor Shaigec called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Present: 5 - Council Member AnnLisa Jensen, Council Member Jackie McCuaig,

Council Member John McNab, Mayor Rod Shaigec and Council Member

**Darrell Hollands** 

Absent: 2 - Council Member Phyllis Kobasiuk and Council Member Tracey Melnyk

### Administration:

Michael Heck, Chief Administrative Officer

Arlan Delisle, County Solicitor/Director, Legal & Legislative Services

Peter Vana, General Manager, Development Services

Carol Bergum, Manager, Planning & Development Services (in part)

Craig Thomas, Manager, Development Planning, Planning & Development

Services (in part)

Feinan Long, Development Planner, Planning & Development Services (in part) Stephen Fegyverneki, Manager, Current Planning, Planning & Development

Services (in part)

Rachelle Trovato, Planner, Planning & Development Services (in part)

Karen Oxley, Planner, Planning & Development Services (in part)

Doug Tymchyshyn, Manager, Legislative Services/Chief Legislative Officer Barb Williams, Legislative Officer, Legislative Services (Recording Secretary)

Council Member Jackie McCuaig attended the special Council meeting by electronic communication facilities.

### ADOPTION OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Council Member John McNab that the January 23, 2017 special Council meeting agenda be adopted, as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

## **Legislative Matters**

Council Member Phyllis Kobasiuk attended the meeting at 9:01 a.m.

Present: 6 - Council Member AnnLisa Jensen, Council Member Jackie McCuaig,

Council Member John McNab, Mayor Rod Shaigec, Council Member

Phyllis Kobasiuk and Council Member Darrell Hollands

Absent: 1 - Council Member Tracey Melnyk

## BL 17-001

Proposed Land Use Bylaw Amendment to Add New Regional Business Industrial (BIR) District (Bylaw 2017-01)

## **Proposed Motions**

- 1. That Bylaw 2017-01 receive first reading.
- 2. That a public hearing be scheduled on February 28, 2017, at 10:00 a.m. in Council Chambers to hear public comment on Bylaw 2017-01.

A motion was made by Council Member John McNab that Bylaw 2017-01 receive first reading. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Council Member Phyllis Kobasiuk that a public hearing be scheduled on February 28, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in Council Chambers at Parkland County Center to hear public comment on Bylaw 2017-01. The motion carried unanimously.

## BL 17-002

Highlands Business Park Redistricting Bylaw (Bylaw 2017-02)

#### **Proposed Motions**

- 1. That Bylaw 2017-02 receive first reading.
- 2. That a public hearing be scheduled on February 28, 2017 at 10:15 a.m. to hear public comment on Bylaw 2017-02.

A motion was made by Council Member AnnLisa Jensen that Bylaw 2017-02 receive first reading. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Council Member John McNab that a public hearing be scheduled on February 28, 2017 at 10:15 a.m. in Council Chambers at Parkland County Center to hear public comment on Bylaw 2017-02. The motion carried unanimously.

BL 17-005

Proposed Land Use Bylaw Amendment to Add New Agricultural Industry Development (AGI) District (Bylaw 2017-05)

#### **Proposed Motions**

- 1. That Bylaw 2017-05 receive first reading.
- 2. That a public hearing be scheduled on March 28, 2017, at 9:30 a.m. in Council Chambers to hear public comment on Bylaw 2017-05.

A motion was made by Council Member Darrell Hollands that Bylaw 2017-05 receive first reading. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Council Member John McNab that a public hearing be scheduled on March 28, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Council Chambers at Parkland County Center to hear public comment on Bylaw 2017-05. The motion carried unanimously.

BL 17-004

Proposed Amendment to the Entwistle Area Structure Plan Bylaw 23-2012 (Bylaw 2017-03); and,

Land Use Bylaw 20-2009 - Redistricting Pt: NW-21-53-07-W5M (Bylaw 2017-04)

### **Proposed Motions**

Entwistle Area Structure Plan Amendment

- 1. That Bylaw 2017-03 receive first reading.
- 2. That a public hearing be scheduled on March 28, 2017, at 9:45 a.m. in Council Chambers to hear public comment on Bylaw 2017-03.

Land Use Bylaw Amendment - Redistricting of Pt: NW-21-53-07-W5M

- 1. That Bylaw 2017-04 receive first reading.
- 2. That a public hearing be scheduled on March 28, 2017, at 9:45 a.m. in Council Chambers to hear public comment on Bylaw 2017-04.

A motion was made by Council Member Phyllis Kobasiuk that Bylaw 2017-03 receive first reading. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Council Member AnnLisa Jensen that a public hearing be scheduled on March 28, 2017 at 9:45 a.m. in Council Chambers at Parkland County Center to hear public comment on Bylaw 2017-03. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Council Member Darrell Hollands that Bylaw 2017-04 receive first reading. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Council Member John McNab that a public hearing be scheduled on March 28, 2017 at 9:45 a.m. in Council Chambers at Parkland County Center to hear public comment on Bylaw 2017-04. The motion carried unanimously.

| $\sim$ 1 | OCE | OF I | MFFT | INI | 2  |
|----------|-----|------|------|-----|----|
| Lal      | USE | UF   |      | ши  | ъ. |

| Mayor Shaigec close | ed the meeting at 9:28 a.m. |
|---------------------|-----------------------------|
|                     |                             |
|                     |                             |
|                     | <br>Mayor                   |
|                     | Mayor                       |
|                     |                             |
|                     |                             |

Manager, Legislative Services/Chief Legislative Officer