

Parkland County

53109A Highway 779
Parkland County, Alberta
T7Z 1R1
Parklandcounty.com

Meeting Minutes

Committee of the Whole

Mayor Rod Shaigec
Council Member AnnLisa Jensen
Council Member Jackie McCuaig
Council Member Phyllis Kobasiuk
Council Member Darrell Hollands
Council Member John McNab
Council Member Tracey Melnyk

Tuesday, March 6, 2018 9:00 AM Council Chambers

CALL TO ORDER

Committee Chair Jackie McCuaig called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m.

Present: 4 - Mayor Rod Shaigec, Council Member Jackie McCuaig, Council Member

Phyllis Kobasiuk and Council Member John McNab

Absent: 3 - Council Member AnnLisa Jensen, Council Member Darrell Hollands and

Council Member Tracey Melnyk

Administration:

Dave Cross, General Manager, Community Services, Acting CAO
Arlan Delisle, County Solicitor/Director, Legal & Legislative Services (in-part)
Ken Van Buul, General Manager, Corporate Services (in-part)
Lenny Richer, Director, Parks, Recreation and Culture Services
Peter Vana, General Manager, Development Services (in-part)
Rob McGowan, General Manager, Infrastructure Services
Sarah Mate, Manager, Communications (in-part)
Laura Swain, Director, Strategic Planning and Intergovernmental Affairs
Jennifer O'Brien, Supervisor, Customer Service (in-part)
Angela Turner, Manager, Parks, Recreation and Culture Services (in-part)
Barb Williams, Acting Chief Legislative Officer
Lois Tyerman, Legislative Services (Recording Secretary)

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Committee Member Phyllis Kobasiuk that the March 6, 2018 Committee of the Whole agenda be adopted, as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

ADOPTION OF MINUTES

MIN 18-004 Unadopted Committee of the Whole February 6, 2018 Meeting Minutes

Proposed Motion

The Committee of the Whole meeting minutes of February 6, 2018 be

adopted, as presented.

A motion was made by Committee Member John McNab that the February 6, 2018 Committee of the Whole meeting minutes be adopted, as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

NEW BUSINESS

Chief Administrative Officer

RFD 18-030 Customer Service Update

Proposed Motion

That the Customer Service Update be received for information, as presented.

A motion was made by Committee Member Phyllis Kobasiuk that the Customer Service Update be received for information, as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

General Manager, Community Services

RFD 18-032 Our Communities, Our People - Social Development Plan

Proposed Motion

That the Our Communities, Our People - Social Development Plan update be received as information, as presented.

A motion was made by Committee Member John McNab that the Our Communities, Our People - Social Development Plan update be received for information, as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

DELEGATIONS

App 18-019 Public Input - 9:15 a.m. (10 minutes)

Committee Chair Jackie McCuaig asked the gallery if there were any issues that the public wishes to bring to the attention of Parkland County.

Pastor Brian Coldwell, New Testament Baptist Church, came forward to request that Parkland County consider to waive fees related to futher development of the church.

COMMUNICATIONS

COM 18-012 Federation of Canadian Municipalities Update

Proposed Motion

That the Federation of Canadian Municipalities update be received for information, as presented.

A motion was made by Mayor Rod Shaigec that the Federation of Canadian Municipalities Update be received for information, as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

COM 18-013

AAMDC Member Bulletin

Proposed Motion

That the AAMDC Member Bulletin be received for information, as presented.

A motion was made by Committee Member Phyllis Kobasiuk that the AAMDC Member Bulletin be received for information, as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

DELEGATIONS

App 18-020

Appointment - 9:30 a.m.

Mayatan Lake Management Association - Walt Neilson North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance - Dave Trew

Proposed Motion

That the Mayatan Lake Watershed Management Plan: Implementation presentation be received for information, as presented.

Walt Neilson, Mayatan Lake Management Association and Dave Trew, North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance presented the Mayatan Lake Management Plan: Implementation presentation.

A motion was made by Committee Member Phyllis Kobasiuk that the Mayatan Lake Management Plan: Implementation presentation be received for information, as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

RECESS

Committee Chair Jackie McCuaig recessed the meeting at 9:48 a.m. and reconvened the meeting at 10:00 a.m.

App 18-016

Appointment - 10:00 a.m.

Alberta Transportation, Office of Traffic Safety - Donna Tona, Team Lead, Community Mobilization Consultant

Proposed Motion

That the Alberta Transportation, Office of Traffic Safety presentation be received for information, as presented.

Donna Tona, Alberta Transportation, Office of Traffic Safety presented the Alberta Transportation, Office of Traffic Safety presentation.

A motion was made by Committee Member John McNab that the Alberta Transportation, Office of Traffic Safety presentation be received for information, as presented.

App 18-015

Appointment - 10:30 a.m.

Bridge to Care - Praise Abraham, Director; Rita Deleurme, Program

Coordinator; and Heather Rhine, Manager, Quality Assurance

Proposed Motion

That the Bridge to Care presentation be received for information, as presented.

Heather Rhine, Manager, Bridge to Care presented the Bridge to Care presentation.

Mayor Rod Shaigec moved that the Bridge to Care presentation be received for information, as presented,

NEXT MEETING

The next Committee of the Whole meeting is scheduled for April 3, 2018.

CLOSE OF MEETING

Committee Chair Jackie McCuaig adjourned the meeting at 10:41 a.m.

Committee Chair	