

# **Parkland County**

53109A Highway 779 Parkland County, Alberta T7Z 1R1 Parklandcounty.com

## **Meeting Minutes**

### Council

Mayor Rod Shaigec Council Member AnnLisa Jensen Council Member Jackie McCuaig Council Member Phyllis Kobasiuk Council Member Darrell Hollands Council Member John McNab Council Member Tracey Melnyk

Tuesday, July 2, 2019 8:45 AM **Council Chambers** 

### **Special Meeting**

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Mayor Shaigec called the meeting to order at 8:47 a.m.

Present: 7 - Mayor Rod Shaigec, Council Member AnnLisa Jensen, Council Member Jackie McCuaig, Council Member Phyllis Kobasiuk, Council Member Darrell Hollands, Council Member John McNab and Council Member Tracey Melnyk

#### Administration:

Michael Heck, Chief Administrative Officer Laura Swain, General Manager, Corporate Services Arlan Delisle, County Solicitor, Legal Services Dave Cross, General Manager, Agriculture, Community & Protective Services Ken Van Buul, General Manager, Strategic Initiatives Sarah Mate, Director, Community Services Barb Williams, Manager, Legislative Services Sheryl Cammidge, Legislative Officer (Recording Secretary)

### **NEW BUSINESS**

### **ADOPTION OF AGENDA**

A motion was made by Council Member Tracey Melnyk that the July 2, 2019 agenda be adopted as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

#### **Mayor and Council Member Matters**

RFD 19-140 Council Appointments to the Regional Plan Committee

#### **Proposed Motion**

That Council appoint the Mayor and one Council member to the Regional Plan

Committee; and, that one Council member be appointed as an alternate.

Mayor Shaigec called for nominations for the Council appointment to the Regional Plan Committee:

Council Member John McNab nominated Council Member Tracey Melnyk. Council Member Jackie McCuaig presented a self nomination. Council Member AnnLisa Jensen presented a self nomination.

Mayor Shaigec called for further nominations. No further nominations were presented. Mayor Shaigec ceased nominations. Mayor Shaigec called on a vote for nominated candidate Council Member Tracey Melnyk:

For: 4 - Mayor Shaigec, Council Member Hollands, Council Member McNab and Council Member Melnyk

Against: 3 - Council Member Jensen, Council Member McCuaig and Council Member Kobasiuk

It was declared that Council Member Tracey Melnyk be appointed to the Regional Plan Committee.

Mayor Shaigec called for nominations for the alternate Council appointment to the Regional Plan Committee:

Council Member Darrell Hollands nominated Council Member John McNab.

Council Member Phyllis Kobasiuk nominated Council Member AnnLisa Jensen.

Mayor Shaigec called for further nominations. No further nominations were presented. Mayor Shaigec ceased nominations. Mayor Shaigec called on a vote for nominated candidate Council Member John McNab:

For: 5 - Mayor Shaigec, Council Member McCuaig, Council Member Hollands, Council Member McNab and Council Member Melnyk

Against: 2 - Council Member Jensen and Council Member Kobasiuk

It was declared that Council Member John McNab be appointed to the Regional Plan Committee.

A motion was made by Council Member Darrell Hollands that Council appoint Mayor Shaigec and Council Member Tracey Melnyk to the Regional Plan Committee and that Council Member John McNab be appointed as an alternate to Regional Plan Committee. The motion carried unanimously.

### **Legislative Matters**

RFD 19-141 Cancellation of the July 9, 2019 Council Meeting

### **Proposed Motion**

That the July 9, 2019 regular Council meeting be cancelled.

A motion was made by Council Member Phyllis Kobasiuk that the July 9, 2019 regular Council meeting be cancelled. The motion carried unanimousy.

## **CLOSE OF MEETING**

Mayor Shaigec closed the meeting at 8:56 a.m.

Mayor

Manager, Legislative Services