

Parkland County

53109A Highway 779 Parkland County, Alberta T7Z 1R1 Parklandcounty.com

Meeting Minutes

Council

Mayor Rod Shaigec Council Member AnnLisa Jensen Council Member Jackie McCuaig Council Member Phyllis Kobasiuk Council Member Darrell Hollands Council Member John McNab Council Member Tracey Melnyk

Tuesday, March 31, 2020 9:00 AM **Council Chambers**

Special Council Meeting

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Shaigec called the electronic meeting to order at 9:03 a.m.

Present: 7 - Mayor Rod Shaigec, Council Member AnnLisa Jensen, Council Member Jackie McCuaig, Council Member Phyllis Kobasiuk, Council Member Darrell Hollands, Council Member John McNab and Council Member Tracey Melnyk

Administration:

Michael Heck, Chief Administrative Officer Laura Swain, General Manager, Corporate & Shared Services Rob McGowan, General Manager, Operations Services Tracy Kibblewhite, Chief Financial Officer Jeff Dyck, Director, Financial Planning & Treasury Barb Williams, Manager, Legislative Services **Kevin Yanch, Application Support Analyst** Sheryl Cammidge, Legislative Officer (Remote Recording Secretary)

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Council Member Jensen that the March 31, 2020 agenda be adopted, as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

NEW BUSINESS

Chief Financial Officer

RFD 20-053 Property Tax Penalty Deferral

Proposed Motion

That Council approve to eliminate the property tax penalty for the failure to pay

current property taxes for both residential and non-residential property owners between July 1, 2020 and August 31, 2020.

A motion was made by Council Member Jensen Council approve to eliminate the property tax penalty for the failure to pay current property taxes for both residential and non-residential property owners between July 1, 2020 and August 31, 2020.

Recess

Mayor Shaigec recessed the meeting due to technical issues at 9:13 a.m. and reconvened the meeting at 9:15 a.m. with all members of Council and Administration present.

RFD 20-053

Property Tax Penalty Deferral

Proposed Motion

That Council approve to eliminate the property tax penalty for the failure to pay current property taxes for both residential and non-residential property owners between July 1, 2020 and August 31, 2020.

A motion was made by Council Member Jensen that Council approve to eliminate the property tax penalty for the failure to pay current property taxes for both residential and non-residential property owners between July 1, 2020 and August 31, 2020. The motion carried unanimously.

RFD 20-054

Utility Penalty Deferral

Proposed Motion

That Council approve to eliminate utility penalties for the failure to pay current water, bulk water, waste water, and curbside garbage pickup, for residential and non-residential property owners between March 18, 2020 and June 18, 2020.

A motion was made by Council Member McCuaig that Council approve to eliminate utility penalties for the failure to pay current water, bulk water, waste water, and curbside garbage pickup, for residential and non-residential property owners between March 18, 2020 and June 18, 2020. The motion carried unanimously.

Legislative Matters

BL 20-012

Bylaw 2020-05 Operating Expenditures Borrowing

Proposed Motions

- 1. That Bylaw 2020-05 receive first reading.
- 2. That Bylaw 2020-05 receive second reading.
- 3. That Bylaw 2020-05 be presented at this meeting for third reading.
- 4. That Bylaw 2020-05 receive third and final reading.

A motion was made by Council Member Kobasiuk that Bylaw 2020-05 receive first reading. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Council Member Hollands that Bylaw 2020-05 receive

second reading. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Council Member McNab that Bylaw 2020-05 be presented at this meeting for third reading. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Council Member Melnyk that Bylaw 2020-05 receive third and final reading, and that it be declared finally passed. The motion carried unanimously.

CLOSE OF MEETING

Mayor			