

Parkland County

53109A Highway 779 Parkland County, Alberta T7Z 1R1 Parklandcounty.com

Legislation Text

File #: RFD 16-199, Version: 1

Appointments to Council Compensation Committee

Proposed Motion

That Stephanie Sabadaska, Malcolm Davidson, Dierdrea Swinden, Cheryl Budzinski, and Yvan Boutin be appointed to the 2016 Council Compensation Committee.

Administration Recommendation

Administration supports the motion.

Purpose

To review Mayor and Councillor compensation and make recommendations to Council.

Summary

Council has directed that compensation for the Mayor and Councillors be reviewed every four years, and completed within eight months prior to an election. Any changes in rates would be effective for the newly elected Council. Council promotes the use of a transparent public process by having public members independently review and make recommendations on Mayor and Councillor compensation.

Advertising for public members was published in the local newspapers in July and August of 2016, with information and advertising on this committee also posted on the County's website and Facebook.

Strategic Plan/Policy/Legal/Staff Implications

These public committee member appointments support Council's Strategic Plan Core Value of being progressive by establishing a committee to determine compensation recommendations that adapt to change and incorporate best practices for Council consideration. Additionally the public committee member appointments comply with the requirements of Public Committee Members Policy C-AD26.

Financial Impact:

Cost: \$9,485.00

Source of Funding: 2016 Budget